28 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2011 7:14 PM by expert_not

Audio mysteriously disappeared, help?

expert_not

I'm new to Adobe Premiere Elements 9.  I have a file that I imported.  In QuickTime 7 Pro I had pieced together video/audio clips, but then I wanted to make a movie for a gift so I bought PRE 9.  Anyway, in PRE I clipped each snippet of video/audio so I could add transitions between them.  Now, in the Timeline window, I can see both the audio and video pieces, but when I play it, only the video plays - no audio.  What did I do??  I've check all the volume controls to make sure they are not muted and the volume is at a level I could hear.  I checked the connections and am able to play/hear music on you tube.  Thanks for your help.

• 1. Re: Audio mysteriously disappeared, help?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

Can you hear any Audio in PrE, or just from this Project?

If I read correctly, you combined Audio & Video in QT, and output to a MOV, which was then Imported and edited in PrE. Is that correct?

If so, at any point, did you hear the Audio in PrE?

What are the Audio specs. in that MOV file?

This is a general ARTICLE on various Audio issues. Check all of those suggestions, and report the resluts, along with the answers to the questions above, please.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Audio mysteriously disappeared, help?
            expert_not Level 1

Thank you!

Yes, I can hear audio - I just brought in another video file (.mt2s) and was able to play and hear it.

Yes, I imported it as .MOV.

Yes, I was able to play/hear it after importing.  I just noticed that I couldn't hear anything after splitting it up.  but, not sure if that's when it happened or if the soulnd was gone before splitting.

How do I find the audio specs?  In the task window - the balance and volume are both at normal levels.