4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2011 5:19 PM by William Spence

Populating a Tilelist with Thumbnail Images

William Spence Level 1

I apologize upfront, I am a Flex newbie and know that I am missing something small.  I am trying to get an array of image objects into a tilelist.  I am not loading images from a URL, my program dynamically creates thumbnails of images that a user chooses from their own files.  The images are imported and then converted into high-quality thumbnails then put into a "thumbnail" array where each array element is formatted as an image type.  So:

thumbnail[1] is of type Image and is filled with a bitmap image 75x75 pixels

thumbnail[2] is of type Image and is filled with a bitmap image 75x75 pixels

thumbnail[3] is of type Image and is filled with a bitmap image 75x75 pixels

etc.....

I know that this much is done correctly because if I add each element of the array to a Group container, I get a series of images displayed.  All good.

I then wrap the image array into an arraycollection to be used as a dataprovider for my Tilelist.  I accomplish this as follows:

[Bindable]

var imageCollection:ArrayCollection = new ArrayCollection(thumbnail);

Finally, I bind the arraycollection to the dataprovider property in MXML and use a Image drop in itemrenderer like this:

<mx:TileList id="MyTileList" x="100" y="100" width="650" height="650" dataProvider="{imageCollection}" itemRenderer="mx.controls.Image"/>

Unforunately, all I get is a bunch of empty boxes with  little empty image icons in them.  I have the correct number of boxes, they just do not have my thumbnails in them.  I don't know if my dataprovider has to be cast as Objects instead of Images somehow, or if it is a problem with my itemRenderer or I am missing a small property, but I could really use some help.  Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: Populating a Tilelist with Thumbnail Images
          pauland Level 4

William,