9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2017 4:09 PM by matthewn39142627

duplicate text or titel

tom*78

Hi

I'm new in Premiere Elements 9.0. Everything is working fine and I'm getting to know my way around.

There is only one thing that is really bothering me. I hope somebody can help me out here.

I make a new title using the 'T' symbol underneath the preview screen. This puts the text on the timeline and then I start editing my text.

To make a new textclip with the same properties I copy this piece of text by selecting the clip on the timline and then using CTRL-C. Than I move the slider and press CTRL-V to paste it onto the timeline.

Now, if I change the text of the second (copy) clip, the text in the first clip will also change....

This is probably a small setting or something to change it but it is really bothering me. Is there a link between the two clips that I have to turn of?

Is there another quick way to do this without changing the settings over and over again.

I don't want to use the style option because it will not remember the position. I just want to copy and paste so the clip is exactly the same exept for the possibility to change the test itself.

Thanks for helping me out. My hair is falling out....

tom

• 1. Re: duplicate text or titel
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

I cover this very issue in my book, by the way!

The problem is that you're copying your clip -- which produces a clone.

Instead, right-click on the clip in the Project panel and select the option to Duplicate. This will produce an identical but separate duplicate of the title.

Dozens of more tricks like that in the book, if you're interested.

• 2. Re: duplicate text or titel
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Tom,

Welcome to the forum.

As Steve points out, you have several Instances of your Title on the Timeline, and not individual Titles. The Duplicate is what you want, to give you separate, uniques Titles.