4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2011 8:28 AM by cfg_2451

recovery from dynamic link problem

cfg_2451 Level 2

I've got a copy of Production Premium CS5. I've been climbing the learning curves, but it's huge so I'm still a newbie in many ways, some programs more than others. So please be patient with me.

I've got an existing project in PPro. It's dynamically linked to Encore and I've made some release candidate DVDs. Client decided to replace static lower thirds with motion graphics, along with some other edits.

I believe (it's been a week or so now and my memory isn't the best) that I opened the project in PPro, then did a "File ... Adobe Dynamic Link ... New After Effects Composition", but when AE opened, it was empty. So I imported the PPro project. Added my graphics, did some minor color grading, etc. Part of the work involved some editing in PPro, and when I did those edits I'd see it immediately in AE, so I assumed (darn it) that everything was working fine.

Yesterday I go to PPro for final review before using Encore to make another release candidate DVD, and in PPro I don't see the AE changes. So... dynamic link is a one way street for some reason.

So here's my question. How do I pull those AE changes into the PPro project? I need to do that so that I don't have to redo all that Encore work.

Ah, one last data point. I don't know why (probably not used to working with dynamic link) but I saved the AE project and gave it a separate name. So I have, for example, a.prproj, and b.aep. The more I think about it, the more I think this has something to do with my problem. But... how do I recover?

• 1. Re: recovery from dynamic link problem
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant