17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2011 2:32 PM by Movie Geek

Replace with AE Composition - Video Blurry

Movie Geek

Hello everybody. This is my first post, so bear with me.

I am fairly new to After Effects -and the Adobe Production Premium in general, actually- I spent most of my time in film school editing with FCP (I've found that I do like PPro better, though).

In any case, I am attempting to create a promo video for my company, and I prefer to do my color-correction in AE (since PPro's stock color correction isn't exactly the best) and so I am utilizing the "Replace with After Effects compositon" command in Premiere Pro. It will load into AE fine, I will do my effects and color correction and whatnot, but when I go back into Premiere Pro, the video that I had manipulated in AE is blurry and unattractive, even after rendering and/or exporting as an .AVI.

My export settings are not in question, as regular PPro video looks great when I export, only the AE composition portion is blurry.

Am I doing something wrong? Is there anything I can do to preserve the video quality when linking AE compositions and PPro projects? Could it be a hardware issue?

For reference:

Video shot on Canon XL-2

720x480

16:9 (1.2121)

NTSC

29.7 FPS

System:

Operating System: Windows 7 Enterprise (64-bit)

Processor: Intel Core i5 2.67GHz

RAM: 8GB

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 210

I know my system sucks for editing, but I haven't been able to convince my bosses to buy me a turnkey system yet. But, I've still got hope!

• 1. Re: Replace with AE Composition - Video Blurry
          Jim_Simon Level 8

How does that same video look in AE?

• 2. Re: Replace with AE Composition - Video Blurry
            Movie Geek Level 1