16 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2011 10:43 AM by rob day

Overprint Preview... what in the world?

angiesimo17

Okay - for some reason today I happened to be reading a forum that mentioned overprint preview for InDesign and I realized I've never even used "overprint preview". So I decided to turn it on for the project I'm currently working on... and wow did I open up a can of worms.

I'm working on a booth design (several different panels) and I turned overprint preview on all 3 files. On one file in particular it caused a completely different color look.

Just an FYI: I'm using CS5.... and although I've designed lots of different things for prints (billboards, postcards, etc.), I'm a novice, so any advice is welcome! I am using PMS colors.

Things I've tried: I have gone to ink manager and tried checking and unchecking "use standard lab values for spots" to see if it made any difference, and it hasn't. I also went to the appearance of black (even though I'm not using black) and unchecked overprint black.

With overprint preview turned off.

image1.JPG

With overprint preview turned on.

image2.JPG

Help? It looks fine when I print it on my printer here... but I want to make sure there aren't any issues when I send it to the booth company.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Overprint Preview... what in the world?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

There is no way in the world this will be printed with Pantone colors so why are you using them?

Bob

• 2. Re: Overprint Preview... what in the world?
            angiesimo17 Level 1

I always send to them in our two PMS colors - they are the our two colors we use exclusively.

• 3. Re: Overprint Preview... what in the world?
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

And what colors would those be? Does your output look like your beforeor after screen cap?

• 4. Re: Overprint Preview... what in the world?
                Daniel Flavin Level 4