13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2011 9:09 AM by Debi1016

resize video without losing quality

Debi1016 Level 1

I'm new to premiere elements, and I am having some quality issues. The video I have shot is HD 16:9, but the output I want is 4:3. What is the best way to do this. I realize that if I add video to my 4:3 project and try to stretch it to fit, the quality is lost. Is there a way to stretch it, and keep the quality? Or can you save it in the "share" to be 4:3 without the letterboxing? So far when I try exporting to 4:3 it just creates letterboxing on the top and bottom instead of cropping in.

Thanks!

Debi

• 1. Re: resize video without losing quality
          the_wine_snob Level 9

For the 16:9 to 4:3, the best that you can do, to maintain the best quality, would be to allow the sides (or perhaps one side) to be cropped from the 16:9 footage. Can you stand such cropping?

Next best would be to allow for the Letterboxing of the 16:9 in the 4:3 Project.

For going to HD footage to SD, Steve G. offered a workflow in this THREAD. I added a link to Jeff Bellune's HD to SD tutorial, but it's fairly involved, and needs several open source programs, with some scripts.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: resize video without losing quality
            Debi1016 Level 1

Thanks, yes I can totally lose space on both sides. How do I crop it though. If i transform it and stretch it bigger I loose the quality.

Thanks,

Debi

• 3. Re: resize video without losing quality
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Debi,

You do not actively crop the 16:9 footage. That takes place naturally, due to the 4:3 Project Frame Size. If you place wider (in this case) footage into a more narrow Frame Size, the extra material is just not seen.

Now, as you are starting with HD footage (isn't that correct), I would use Steve's suggested workflow, to edit the HD footage, and then to Export/Share as a DV-AVI Widescreen (PAR = 1.212), and Import that into a DV Standard 4:3 Project.

Good luck,