5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2011 9:04 AM by Derek Cross

Interactive Contracts

San_Francisco_Kid Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I am a Newb in the design realm, but my CEO has tasked me with creating an "interactive contract" that we can attach to our website with a unique URL that will allow customers to choose their prodcuts from some form of selectable list (Im thinking Check Boxes) and whenever each services is selected the contract automatically populates itself with the product, description and price. I think that this can only be accomplished in Dreamweaver, however he would like it done in Acrobat/Indesign to make printing easier.

I have not been able to find a way to make this happen with InDesign, but if anyone has any advice I'm all ears. Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Interactive Contracts
          Derek Cross Level 6

I'm not sure whether this is exactly what you want, but one solution would be to create the design for your form, with fields, check boxes etc in InDesign, then export it to PDF. Open the PDF in Adobe Acrobat, and create a form (In Version X, it's: Tools > Forms > Create - Use current document). Having created your form you can upload the PDF to your website so that users can download it, complete it and email it back to you (there are also other ways of collecting data). If this sounds what you'd like to do, you can learn how with the excellent Lynda.com tutorial: http://www.lynda.com/Acrobat-9-tutorials/pro-creating-forms/540-2.html

Derek

• 2. Re: Interactive Contracts
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Derek's solution will work fine, but there is a licensing issue that resticts you to a total of 500 returns. If you need more than that, you need to license Live Cycle, I believe, and it's NOT cheap.

• 3. Re: Interactive Contracts
              Derek Cross Level 6