13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2012 10:15 PM by Rick Gerard

How to shoot 1080p/60, output to 720p/60, so Warp Stabilizer or zoom/crop has no quality loss?

ElcioS Level 1

I'm new to AE, and making a painful transition form FCP to Premiere, so please be patient, I don't understand many of the subtalties of these apps yet.  :-)

Also, please forgive the long explaination, I'm having trouble articulating the problem...

I'm shooting in 1080p/60, AVCHD.  I plan mainly to output to 720p/60.

The idea being, that if I need to warp stabilize footage, or zoom/crop, I can do so without any quality loss.

I don't want to edit the project in 1080p/60, because if I stabilize it, and it blows up the image, it will result in quality loss. Then when I scale down for final output, that pixilated/crapified footage will be present just in scaled down form.

I don't want the footage to be scaled down first, then, when I stabilize it, I'm blowing up 720p footage (thus defeating the whole purpose of doing this) and once again, outputting pixilated/crappified footage.

What are the steps / workflow to set up Premiere and the stabilizing shots in AE, such that I'm working in 720p, but using the 1080p footage, so that extra resolution is available when I need to crop, zoom, stabilize, etc. the footage... and can do so without any quality loss?  It would be great to have that ability to zoom in on elements in post, almost 2x, and not see any loss of quality.

Thanks in advance!

-Jason Wallace

• 1. Re: How to shoot 1080p/60, output to 720p/60, so Warp Stabilizer or zoom/crop has no quality loss?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

I'm shooting in 1080p/60, AVCHD.

Are you SURE about that?  Isn't it actually 1080p/30 or 1080i/60?  The only cameras I know that can shoot 1080p/60 cost as much as a brand-new Corvette... lens, matte box and viewfinder extra.

• 2. Re: How to shoot 1080p/60, output to 720p/60, so Warp Stabilizer or zoom/crop has no quality loss?
            ElcioS Level 1