5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2011 7:51 AM by Tim Goodspeed

Problem with AI Overload

Tim Goodspeed Level 1

I have a project that requires me to import over one hundred AI files ranging in size from 40 to 80MB.  Once I get about 20 or so files imported, AE boggs down and everything takes forever to do.  I have reduced the images resolution to one quarter, and even tried a custom resolution much lower.  I ended up dividing the project into multiple AE files to reduce the number of images in each, but now I have 4 files that are each very slow and I occasionally get memory errors (83::3 and others).  Restarting AE usually takes care of the error messages, but the files remain painfully slow to work with.  Is there something I am overlooking?  Some other way to handle this large number of large AI files?

• 1. Re: Problem with AI Overload
          Tim Goodspeed Level 1

I think I may have found the answer.  Proxies.  Something I have no experience with, but will figure them out with the use of Trish and Chris Meyer's book.  Or if you know of another way, let me know.

• 2. Re: Problem with AI Overload
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

For an Illustrator file to be 80MB it must have a gazillion paths or some high rez embedded rasterized images. I'd make sure that the .ai files are not overkill in terms of embedded images or complexity. The pixel dimensions of embedded images only need to be the same size as your composition if the layer is to be used at 100% scale or, in the case of a 3D layer, at a distance from the camera equal to or greater than the zoom value. If your layer is to be viewed at 200% or the distance from the camera is half the zoom factor then the pixel dimensions need to be 4 x the comp settings. If the layer is all vector art and does not contain certain rasterized effects you can enable continuous rasterization and ignore these restrictions.