6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2011 7:17 PM by i.am.pixelated

GREPs to apply "No Language" to symbols within words?

i.am.pixelated

We use a lot of symbols in our documentation and I have created a custom user dictionary in InDesign (CS5, Mac OSX, 10.6.7) with about 5000 custom word and number combinations. This worked perfectly in CS2, but not in our CS5 upgrade. Spell Check regularly hangs InDesign --- usually with our symbol-laden terms (Greek, mathematical, etc.) and also does not like the user to select “Ignore All” too many times.

I’m a GREP newbie, and after much trial and error, I came up with the following GREPs which work, but I think it can be done more efficiently. Currently these catch all words with specific symbols and treats them as "NO LANGUAGE" -- that way Spell Check skips over them. It would almost be more ideal if Spell Check could simply skip the symbol inside of the term, but check the rest of the term. For example, in the text "CLEAR_HITSORY" in would be cool if Spell Check would ignore only the "_" and spell check "CLEAR" and "HITSORY" as two complete words and then offer "
      HISTORY" as a suggestion for HITSORY." However, all these GREPs seem to use a lot of memory and now the program is very sluggish. By the way, the “RT, RTC, RTM” followed by numbers covers all our part numbers:

(.+µ+|.+Ω+|.+∆+|.+θ+|.+_+|.+RTC\d+|.+RTM\d+|.+RT\d+)

(.+
      τ+|.+ƒ+|.+π+|.+ρ+|.+∑+|.+∫+|.+∞+|.+ß+|.+÷+|.++|.+δ+|.+η+|.+≈+|.+~+|.+α+|.+ε+|.+κ+)

^(RTC\d+)|(RT\d+)|(RTM\d+)

I read that
      \D\U\L would find everything that is NOT a digit, NOT a capital letter and NOT a lower case letter. This made me think that it would choose all symbols (Greek, numerical, –, +, &, $, °, • ... ) to which I would apply my character style NO LANGUAGE. I cannot seem to get any combination of this to work. I’m not an engineer, I’m an artist, and I have really been using up all my brain cells.