1 2 Previous Next 46 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2011 5:33 PM by YomBuddy

InDesign won't "Save As"

YomBuddy Level 1

I am new to Mac, running Mac OS X version 10.6.7 on a brand new iMac, but have been using Pagemaker 7.0 for years. I upgraded to InDesign for Mac (from Windows Pagemaker 7.0) this week, and purchased InDesign CS5 Classroom in a Book to get me started. The second step of the first lesson is to save the example file with a new name. When I do so, I get the reply:

Cannot save "01_Start.indd" under a new name. the file "DBTmp4101602852866" is damaged (Error code: 0).

Any attempt to "save as" gets the same reply.

Looking back over the last 6 pages of this forum, I see nothing resembling this. Any suggestions?

• 1. Re: InDesign won't "Save As"
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It sounds like a corrupted file. You might have gotten a bad CD. Can you try copying the file to a different computer?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: InDesign won't "Save As"
            BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I'd also suggest a better book. Sandee Cohen's Visual Quick Start Guide is a far better way to learn (IMO) http://t.co/e0RTA7O

You might also want to check out Lynda.com. $25/month for all you can watch video training. This link will get a seven day trial: http://bit.ly/dMKVSt

Good luck.

Bob

• 3. Re: InDesign won't "Save As"
              John Hawkinson Level 5

Files named like that are stored in ~/Library/Caches/Adobe InDesign/Version 7.0/en_US (adjust for version and locale).

Take a look there and see if anything obvious is wrong...disk full, bad permissions, no files being created, etc., I suppose you could

move aside the whole Adobe InDesign directory and let InDesign recreate it and see what happens...

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: InDesign won't "Save As"
                YomBuddy Level 1