11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2011 7:50 PM by progressivemi

Import avhcd full hd 1080p

wamhub

Hello,

I've purchased a Sony camcorder HDR-CX160E which is capable of filming avhcd full hd resolution 1920x1080 at 50 frames per second, 50p. When i start a new project in Premiere Elements 9 i only have the option to select avhcd full hd resolution 1920x1080 at 25 frames per second, 50i. A little test proved that i can import material filmed at 50p from my sdhc card but i'm afraid that i won't be able to export it to blu-ray properly. As i don't have a blu-ray writer yet, i can't test it. Does anyone have any experience with importing 50p material in Premiere Elements 9 and exporting it to blu-ray? I'm completely new to Premiere Elements as i used to work with Pinnacle Studio in the past. Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Import avhcd full hd 1080p
          Steve Grisetti-JFIrXo Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Premiere Elements, like virtually all consumer video editing software, does not offer support for 1920x1080 at 50p. (It does at 1280x720.) Even Pinnacle's software produces only a hybrid format for this type of video.

If you want to edit your full AVCHD video in Premiere Elements, you will need to shoot it in 50i (25 fps).

Loading 50p AVCHD into Premiere Elements often leads to rendering issues.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Import avhcd full hd 1080p
            Ted Smith Level 3

1900x1989i will produce a perfectly good Blue Ray result except that, if you burn the BD disk with PE9 you must make sure you do not burn the disk at a speed higher than the blank disk is capable of otherwise it wont play in some players.

PE9 doesnt have the option of setting the burning slow so many people use another cheap program like Sony Architect or Cyberlink Power Producer to author and burn the edited file from PE9.

4x BD disks are cheaper but BD burners these days start at 8x.

1 person found this helpful