6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2011 3:05 PM by Peter Blazejewicz

converting the web app into AIR app leads errors

starter46

Hi all,

I am new to flex, i am trying to convert a web app into air app.

I changes the tags and when i complie i get the below 3 error popups with dismis and continue buttons on the bottom right..

Error: Error #2067: The ExternalInterface is not available in this container. ExternalInterface requires Internet Explorer ActiveX, Firefox, Mozilla 1.7.5 and greater, or other browsers that support NPRuntime.

Error: Error #2067: The ExternalInterface is not available in this container. ExternalInterface requires Internet Explorer ActiveX, Firefox, Mozilla 1.7.5 and greater, or other browsers that support NPRuntime.

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: converting the web app into AIR app leads errors
          Peter Blazejewicz Level 4

Hi,

Well, run "Find" in your authoring tool and find where your code is using flash.external.ExternalInterface (your debugger window should also point where in source code ExternalInterface api is used - in which line and which source code file).

Your application is facing stopper as flash.external.ExternalInterface.available returns *false* - there is no support for that api in Air runtime.

regards,

Peter

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: converting the web app into AIR app leads errors
            starter46 Level 1

Thanks peter for the quick answer.

i found these three lines that are using external interface in air

ExternalInterface.addCallback("selectTabByName",selectTabByName);

ExternalInterface.addCallback("getData",getData);

plog.log( "External Interface Available: "+ExternalInterface.available);

is there any way to alternate those lines to work in AIR?

thanks in advance.

• 3. Re: converting the web app into AIR app leads errors

Hi,