6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2011 3:47 PM by Mary Posner

Indesign export options?

britinswe Level 1

I feel like a freak here, as I am not a designer, but am forced to get into Indesign because I need to export an indesign project to Word.

In fact I have a PDF created from Indesign, and have tried converting that to a Word file, but it seems there would be a lot of work to correct it.

So my question is could I export an Indesign project to a Word file as I have to translate it to Spanish and I think I can only do this in Word.

Or is there a good tool anyone can recommend for converting a PDF to Word, I have tried most of them, but none are really perfect.

Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

britinswe

• 1. Re: Indesign export options?
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

britinswe wrote:

[...] is there a good tool anyone can recommend for converting a PDF to Word, I have tried most of them, but none are really perfect.

That's because there is no "perfect" conversion possible. If you could do everything with Word, nobody would need InDesign. (Oh ... and the reverse, of course.)

Did you try exporting just the text to RTF?

Did you look at Recosoft's tool, at http://indesignsecrets.com/pr-recosoft-ships-id2office-a-new-indesign-to-microsoft-office- conversion-tool.php?

• 2. Re: Indesign export options?
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

You can't export from InDesing directly to Word, but all you really care about is the text, and you can export any story from ID to RTF, which you can then open in word.just put the text cursor anywhere in the story, without highlighting anything, and File > Export... and choose RTF.

That said, you can't do this from the PDF, you need the actual InDesign file. For that matter, do youhave the original Word files that were most likely used to create the ID file? Check them against the PDF for any changes, if you do.

• 3. Re: Indesign export options?