10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2011 1:35 AM by John Hawkinson

I need help to open an .idml file after translating it with Dejavu!

casa.riehn@arcor.de

Hi everybody,

I'm not used to work with InDesign, I only have to check a big problem: I'm a translator and have been working the last 4 weeks on a InDesing-Projekt from German into Italian. I changed the format of the files from .indd into .idml an imported the three files into my Computer-Assisted-Translation Ptrogram DejaVu. I've been working well till now. Now I tried to export the first File and wanted to open the .idml file with Indesign... The program began to work, but then came a warning "syntax error". Please, is there anybody who knows the program better than I (the agency which should know everything about this kind of files gives up at the first problem)??? This is very important to me. I speak german an italian very good, my english is rudimental....

Thank yopu and have a good day (tel. +49-(0)9208 588316)

Alessandra

• 1. Re: I need help to open an .idml file after translating it with Dejavu!
          John Hawkinson Level 5

Is the syntax error from InDesign?

Or is it from DejaVu?

Does it give a line number or any more details?

Did you edit the IDML file after it was originally exported from InDesign?

When you say "changed format" you used File > Export, you did not simply rename the file, right?

IDML files are just zip files. You can open it up and edit designmap.xml and comment out most of the file and see if it still works, and then carefully narrow down the cause of the problem.

• 2. Re: I need help to open an .idml file after translating it with Dejavu!
            casa.riehn@arcor.de Level 1

Hi John,

I needed to send you the file, because I don't understand what you mean with opening the zip file and so on...

The error message os only by InDesign (CS5), DVX gives no error message.

I expperted the -indd file into .idml format on the right way, not only changing the extension....