9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2011 11:20 PM by cfranklin8

Duplicating previous page items on new page

cfranklin8

Hello--

I'm new to InDesign scripting and am trying to write a script to add a new page immediately after the current page. I would also like to duplicate some of the text frames from the current page onto the new page.

For example, I would finish working on page 8, then use the script to create a new page that would duplicate some of the content from page 8.

Here is part of the script I've trying to write:

var currPage = app.selection[0].parentTextFrames[0].parentPage;

var sectionInfo = currPage.textFrames.itemByName("section");

function newPage {

var myPage = doc.pages.add(LocationOptions.after,currPage);
      myPage.appliedMaster  = doc.masterSpreads.item("A-2C");

myPage.marginPreferences.columnCount = 2;
      myPage.marginPreferences.columnGutter = "3p0";
      var myFrame = myPage.textFrames.add({geometricBounds:["1p0", "32p", "3p", "63"]});

myFrame.contents = sectionInfo;
      myFrame.label = "section";

}

Since I'm referencing the active page, any information I collect seems to disappear when I add a new page. I'm thinking of working the other way: create a new page and then reference information from the previous page. Again, I may be going about this wrong. Any and all suggestions are welcome and appreciated!

c.

• 1. Re: Duplicating previous page items on new page
          John Hawkinson Level 5

What's an example of a variable containing information that is lost? It is best to be quite specific.

You never call your newPage() function, but I assume you're actually calling it.

You set sectionInfo to a textFrame, but you later assign it to myFrame.contents. That is, your are setting a variable that held a textFrame equal to the contents of a textFrame. That's probably not what you intended.

Also, it's helpful to use syntax highlighting when posting scripts that are more than a line: