20 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2016 11:52 AM by MikeGondek

Cannot Embed font into InDesign PDF

MikeGondek Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I am on ID CS5 Win7 and when exporting to PDF smallest file size get this message. I bought the font form Comicraft and used it before In Ilustrator without probolem, but this is my first time using the font in InDesign.

Untitled-1.jpg

Now I am just trying to send a pdf for client review, and can probably find a way to bitmap the pages font. My main concern will be how can I make a pdf-X for final printing?

• 1. Re: Cannot Embed font into InDesign PDF
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Contact the font manufacturer and ask them why the font is restricted against embedding, and if they have an embeddable version for an additional fee.

If the font cannot be embedded, you can't use it in the PDF unless your printer also has the font, and if they ask for PDF/X it's a good bet tehy don't want to be messing around with loading fonts and their preflight will reject the file.

• 2. Re: Cannot Embed font into InDesign PDF
            Joel Cherney Level 5
            Contact the font manufacturer and ask them why the font is restricted against embedding, and if they have an embeddable version for an additional fee.

Ask the first half of the question before you ask the second half of the question. In the last decade, I have found exactly one font that had the no-embed flag set on purpose. Outside of that single instance, the flag has been set accidentally by someone who didn't know exactly what they were doing. Ask 'em directly: orders@comicbookfonts.com. Their license doesn't say anything specifically about embedding fonts in PDF or not. However, they're selling webfonts, so they can't be that opposed to the idea of font embedding in PDFs.

• 3. Re: Cannot Embed font into InDesign PDF
              Joel Cherney Level 5

Whoops! I was a bit fast with the copy/paste. Head here instead: