4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2011 6:07 PM by Ryan Janus

Why aren't my buttons working in Flash CS4?

Ryan Janus

I'm new to Actionscript 3, and it doesn't seem to work at all the way actionscript 2 used to. I have a very simple slash page I'm designing for a friend, which includes a "click here to enter" button. The button never works. In fact, after the animation is done, it always says:

"TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.  at murphysplash_fla::MainTimeline/frame60()"

The behaviors, like rollovers, work fine, but the button doesn't do anything when I click it during a test/preview. Here is my actionscript:

stop();

click_to_enter_btn.addEventListener (MouseEvent.CLICK, goHome);

function goHome (event:MouseEvent):void {

navigateToURL (new URLRequest("http://www.seanmurphysaxophone.com/index.html"), "_blank");

}

The "stop" is so that the animation doesn't keep running over and over. (Also note that "seanmurphysaxophone.com is not yet built, but I should still be getting the browser to at least try and go somewhere.) This seems like something which should be simple, and I'm just not seeing the problem. Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks,
      Ryan Janus

ryan@ryanjanus.com

• 1. Re: Why aren't my buttons working in Flash CS4?
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

That error usually indicates that the button instance on the stage, at least in the frame where you are using it, is not named. Make sure that the button instance is named "click_to_enter_btn" in the frame that shows at that stop.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Why aren't my buttons working in Flash CS4?
            relaxatraja Level 5

Check whether you named the instance with the name click_to_enter_btn. Select the button on the stage and check for the instance name in the property window , have the reference below in screenshot.

1.JPG

1 person found this helpful