5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2011 5:14 PM by the_wine_snob

Fixing echoing audio in Premiere/Soundbooth

espaxefan

I recently videotaped a coworker demonstrating one of our company's products with a Sony Handycam and a ECM-HW2 wireless microphone. Unfortunately, I had the mic set to pick up audio from both the camera and the microphone, and when I played back my footage in Premiere CS5, there were several clips where the audio had a noticeable tunnel-like echo becuase I had gotten too close to the person I was recording. I was scouring forums (this one included) to find the best possible way to clean up this echo, whether in Soundbooth or right in Premiere.  I tried messing with different audio effects (parametric eq, separating the tracks, etc) but nothing worked.  I'm not a pro when it comes to audio editing software or tools, so any advice is greatly appreciated.   From what I could pick up in the forums, fixing echo is a headache-inducing pursuit. If there's anything that might work here, please explain it to me in the most lay terms possible. Thanks all!

• 1. Re: Fixing echoing audio in Premiere/Soundbooth
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Removing that echo will be tough, to impossible.

You have frequencies, that overlap, so if you address the frequencies, you'll be taking down both the original and the echo.

For general background noise, there are tips in this ARTICLE, but I really do not think that anything there will work.

Maybe some heavy-hitting audio guru will teach us both something. If so, I will gladly add their instructions to the article above.

I think that you might be in for a re-shoot, or living with the audio, and altering the micing techniques next time.

Good luck,

Hunt

PS - Welcome to the forum, and I would also post to the SoundBooth and to the Audition forum. For the latter, ask for general techniques for working on such in Audition (do not mention PrPro, or SB), and then we'll see if they apply in SB.