6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2011 8:06 AM by TradeWind

Used "wrong" frame rate for sequences; should I redo?

Heartpine

I am editing a movie and extra video features for my daughter's 11-scene Shakespearian elementary school play.   Video was recorded on 10 year-okd miniDV tape cameras set to NTSC 29.97fps, 720h 480v, and pixel aspect ratio .9091, and the movie and features will be produced for DVD.  Am using Premier Pro CS5.

I am in the final phase of edit clean-ups and only just now realized that I set all my sequences to a different frame rate: 23.976 fps.   Otherwise, the frame size and pixel aspect ratio are the same.  (Apparently I used the DV-24p sequence template instead of the DV-NTSC template, and repeatedly cloned my mistake.  I am a true amateur; I only use Premier Pro for the annual school play.)

To ensure I get the best possible quality, based on what I've read I think I need to go back and recreate the sequences using the frame rate that matches the footage. Quality is important because I have no margin for degradation thanks to using old cameras recording at a distance, and recording in some low light.scenes.

Epecially, rebuilding sequences will be an unhappy prospect because I nested many sequences and used multi-camera editing.

Or would I be creating unnecessarily work for myself?

I notice that the export for MPEG2-DVD allows for both frame rates.   I just don't know video technology enough to understand the implicatons of producing the movie at a lesser frame rate, whether there DVD can be played as well on both modern televisions and 12 year old CRT televisions. (Guess which vintage I have.)

I appreciate any guidance, even if it to confirm the bad news.  I want to create the best possible DVD even if it means re-work; the DVDs will be a keepsake that will be cherished by these kids and their families for years. 

• 1. Re: Used "wrong" frame rate for sequences; should I redo?
          shooternz Level 6

Try This: