4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2006 7:05 AM by peterent

open component / mxml file + button click

ljonny18 Level 1
      Hi

I am really struggling with my Flex application… I have looked on the internet and through the “macromedia flex” book itself, but am not having any joy understanding / finding a solution to my problem….

I have put posts up on this forum and others but again have had no joy, I think it is because I am new to flex and am having difficulties explaining my problem and relating my query to a flex application rather than a website style application (which is what I am most familiar working with) etc……

Anyway, enough of the ramble, I will try and explain again…

I have a Flex application containing different MXML files acting as different “pages” within my application.. e.g. :

mainApp.mxml
      homepage.mxml
      viewRecords.mxml
      contactPage.mxml
      etc…………….

my mainApp.mxml file is my main application file and shows / embeds the homepage.mxml file as the default “component”.
      Within my homepage.mxml file I have buttons (mx:button) labelled “view records” and “cotact us” etc…..

1)when I click a button I want to show the relevant .mxml file (navigate to it) – so e.g. when the contact button is clicked I want to navigate to, and show the contact.mxml file within the application so I assume I need some sort of “click” event on the button, but I cant work out what!

<mx:button id=”contactButton” label=”contact us” click=”show contact.mxml…….”/>

2) additionally (in the case of the “view records” button) I want to also pass a variable (ID) as it changes across on the button click

NOTE the ID is got and set from a dataGrid and saved as a bindable variable, so is already available and is ready in the application – I just need to pass it across into the viewRecords.mxml file

If anyone could help, or offer any suggestions – it would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
      Jon.
        • 1. Re: open component / mxml file + button click