8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 25, 2011 1:52 PM by Steve Grisetti Branched to a new discussion. RSS

Elements 9 - export with mp4 extension

Andreas747506 Community Member

Hi,

I'm new to Elements 9 and now I need to export and deliver a movie with the extension .mp4. Under "Sharing" choosing "Computer" and then "Quicktime" I can choose .mp4 as codec but the extension after exporting the movie is till .mov. Can I change the extension somewhere to .mp4 or will Element 9 always crate .mov files?

I have purchased the software so I'm not running a trial.

Thanks,

Andreas

• 1. Re: Elements 9 - export with mp4 extension
          Steve Grisetti CommunityMVP

There are a number of ways to do this, Andrea. But what device are you outputting your video for?

An mp4 is not just one output setting. It can vary widely in quality levels and frame sizes (from 320x240 to 1920x1080).

It all depends on what device you plan to play it on.

• 2. Re: Elements 9 - export with mp4 extension

Hi Steve,

I want to play it on my Ipad with 1440x1080i 25 frames.

The source is a AVCHD-file from my Sony HX5V camera.

Andreas

• 3. Re: Elements 9 - export with mp4 extension

I'd recommend that you use Share/Portable Devices/iPod.

Then click on the Advanced button and, on the Video tab, set the frame size to 1920x1080. (Although you're looking for a 1440x1080, this frame rate should still play perfectly as a 16x9 video on the device.)

When you click OK, it will ask if you want to save this as a new preset. Say yes and name the preset as iPad, and it will be available whenever you want to output a video in the future.

• 4. Re: Elements 9 - export with mp4 extension

I can't change the frame size, I get a message telling me that I have to change the Profile and the Level. I then adjust the Profle to 5.0 which automatically change the frame size to 1920x1080.