9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2011 10:11 AM by Bill Gehrke

Trying to get started

DSH33

PROCESSORSIntel® Core™ i7-2600 processor(8MB Cache, 3.4GHz)
      OPERATING SYSTEMGenuine Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64Bit, English
      MEMORY12GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz - 4 DIMMs
      HARD DRIVE2TB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 64MB Cache
      VIDEO CARD

ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR5

MONITORDell IN2030M 20-inch HD Monitor with LED
      SECONDARY MONITORDell IN2020M 20" HD Widescreen Monitor with LED

I'm thinking of getting a Dell XPS 8300. Will this system allow me to run the Adobe CS 5.5 Production Premium programs smoothly?

I'm new to video editing and am looking to get into it more seriously. If this doesn't work what else would I need? I only have a history with Dells, are there better computers out there for editing?

• 1. Re: Trying to get started
          the_wine_snob Level 9

What footage do you plan on editing?

Can you get at least one more HDD - 2 is the minimum, with 3 total being better. I am talking physical HDD's, and no partitions.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Trying to get started
            the_wine_snob Level 9

You might want to look over the PrPro Benchmark database for similar computers, to see where it falls in the benchmarking, HERE.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Trying to get started
              DSH33 Level 1

Dell only offers 2. Is 2 not enough? and I will be editing footage I bring home from work on an external hard drive.

• 4. Re: Trying to get started
                DSH33 Level 1

I'm basically just trying to learn all the programs. I don't have a camera or anything. I'm just trying to get to where I can get the programs and learn them so I can get a better job. I just want a not too expensive system that can run the programs smoothly enough for me to learn on them.

• 5. Re: Trying to get started
                  the_wine_snob Level 9