6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2011 9:45 AM by Steve Werner

EPub Scanned Images without Text Flow

TabulaMentis

I am working on an ebook that has lots of complex illustrations, tables, captions. Scanning the images by converting them to JPEG is needed in order for the illlustrations and text to not move. Text flow is an option that I will not be able to offer.

How do I create an ePub book with scanned images without text flow. I did it once, but cannot remember how to do it.

• 1. Re: EPub Scanned Images without Text Flow
          John Hawkinson Level 5

This is tangential, but JPEG is not a good file format for scanned illustrations. It is mathematically incapable of faithfully representing hard edges. You are much better off with almost any other format.

(But I am not an EPUB expert.)

• 2. Re: EPub Scanned Images without Text Flow
            Derek Cross Level 6

You can only use the formats for graphics in ePub of JPG, PNG. and GIF. The latest version of InDesign, version 5.5, makes it much easier to create ePubs.

Derek

• 3. Re: EPub Scanned Images without Text Flow
              marcusstringer Level 3

TabulaMentis wrote:

I am working on an ebook that has lots of complex illustrations, tables, captions. Scanning the images by converting them to JPEG is needed in order for the illlustrations and text to not move. Text flow is an option that I will not be able to offer.

How do I create an ePub book with scanned images without text flow. I did it once, but cannot remember how to do it.

You could make it into PDF, then import the pdf into InDesign, then when you export to ePub it will change them all to Jpegs

• 4. Re: EPub Scanned Images without Text Flow
                Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP