11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2007 6:59 PM by ntsiii

Flex with ASP.NET?

ac361 Level 1
      Hi. I've heard that you can use Flex 2.0 with ASP.NET. Does anyone know of any articles/links that can help in this regard? I know support for .NET is coming in a future release of Flex, but I've also heard that there are ways to get the current version working with ASP.NET. Thank you
        • 1. Re: Flex with ASP.NET?
          ac361 Level 1
          I'll expound on the question: The applications we write are database access, not much file system access. I'm new to Flex but have a few years experience with .NET. I'd love to build a simple ASP.NET to just show off Flex's power to the folks in my department and division. I don't have the Flex Builder tool (wish I did!), but would like some guidance on how to start and get some simple stuff showing on a page. Thank you :)
          • 2. Re: Flex with ASP.NET?
            ntsiii Level 3
            Ok, lets get some basic concepts straight.

Flex is a client-side presentation technology. It produces a Flash SWF file that contains all the client logic necessary to render a user interface. The flash swf is instantiated in html using the object and embed tags.

That HTML wrapper can be produced by any server process you want: static htm page, JSP, PHP, ColdFusion, ASP.Net, whatever. It is just html to the client browser. This is the first possible point of integration with asp.net.