6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2011 1:04 AM by Nick van der Aa

Bringing graphic to background

Nick van der Aa

Sorry, this question should be easy as cake but it's my first time in Indesign, which is different from PS and Illustrator.

I want to bring the blue decoration to the background. Maybe i want on the background in the textblock, but on top of the image.

How do i do this? Work with different layer like in PS? broch1.jpg

• 1. Re: Bringing graphic to background
          Stix Hart Level 5

Select the object and go Object > Arrange > Send Backward until where it's where you want it.  Of course after doing this a few times you'll start using the keyboard shortcuts instead.

If it's easier for you you could use the layers panel, either create a new layer and drag it to that, then drag that layer to where you want it, or in CS5 and later click the little triangle to expand the layers and drag the little square to where you want it.

1.png

• 2. Re: Bringing graphic to background
            Nick van der Aa Level 1

I tried that, but in the Arrange section none of the items i can select.

Also: Can i reduce the opacity of the graphic?

• 3. Re: Bringing graphic to background
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Nick van der Aa wrote:

I tried that, but in the Arrange section none of the items i can select.

Also: Can i reduce the opacity of the graphic?

Is the object selected? Is it on a layer all by itself? If the latter, you'll need to drag the layer into the correct order in the layers panel. Infact, you can use the layers panel in CS5 or later to drag objects on the same layer into any order, too, just like in Illustrator.