9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2011 9:10 AM by Ned Murphy

HELP my imported SWF

le_mac_man Level 1

I have created an animation of a superman like character flying with the animation being his cape flapping, his eye moving occasionally, and he moves up and down slightly to imitate the movement of flight.

I exported that animation as a SWF movie.

I then opened a new document and then imported that SWF file into the library to use, but when I place it on the stage, the functionality doesn't work. The only animation that has carried over from the original file is the cape flapping. The moving eye doesn't work, and he doesn't move up and down anymore.

I'm quite new to animation in flash, so maybe I'm exporting and importing too many times or something, or I'm just not going about it the right way.

Should multiple animations be done in the same document? or should they be done individually and then all imported into a new document where they all come together?

All help and advice most welcome.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: HELP my imported SWF
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

While it can depend on how you made the animations, in general, it is not a good idea to "import" an SWF into an fla, mainly because any actionscript involved with the animation is dropped.  The correct way to bring content from one Flash file into another Flash file is to copy the timeline and paste it into the new file, either as the main timeline or as the timeline of a movieclip.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: HELP my imported SWF
            le_mac_man Level 1

I have copied all the layers from the original FLA file into my new FLA file but not all the animations are working, the flapping cape works, but the up and down movement and the eye moving doesn't work.

• 3. Re: HELP my imported SWF

How are the animations done?  What process did you follow to copy the layers into your other file?

• 4. Re: HELP my imported SWF
                le_mac_man Level 1