13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2011 12:47 PM by sclark14

Alternative to Interactive SWF's

sclark14 Level 1

I am curious what the alternative is to interactive swf's in HTML5.  Is there an Adobe program that allows for the creation of interactive content in HTML5 similar to that that can be created using swf files?  It is highly frustrating to create highly complex interactive content for clients, only to hear the feedback that they want the content to function on both an ipad and iphone as well.  What is my alternative for creating interactive content that will function both with plugins and without?  I am not a web programmer, more of a designer that dabbles in programming.   Am I SOL and need to learn an entire new program?   I am aware of Adobe's Wallaby solution, but as of now, that solution does not solve the problem of interactive content (buttons, etc.).   Any help or guidance (or empathy I guess) would be much appreciated! 

Thanks again forum!

Steve

• 1. Re: Alternative to Interactive SWF's
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Shouldn't that be talked about BEFORE you do all the work?

Check these out:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/wallaby/

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/edge/

Bob

• 2. Re: Alternative to Interactive SWF's
            sclark14 Level 1

Hi Bob,

Yes, it should be discussed prior to the work, and yes it WAS discussed prior to the work, but an executive at the client is a big iPad person and she is making a stink about the lack of functionality on the iPad... AFTER the fact... go figure!

Anyway, you must not have completely read my post because the two links you provided are not solutions for INTERACTIVE content, just timed motion content, unless I am missing something.  What I am looking for is something that will allow interactive buttons and such to work across platforms with swf files... or if that does not exist, a comparable program to ID that allows for the creation of such content in HTML5.