6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2011 10:13 AM by the_wine_snob

Premier Elements 8 Audio Problem

amreinkr

I just got a new Dell laptop last week that came with the Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 and Premier Elements 8 bundle pre-installed.   I’ve never worked with Premier Elements before and thought I’d try my luck with it yesterday. I edited several movie clips that were taken with my Sony camera in MP4 format, joined the clips into one movie with transitions between them, and rendered the finished product in .mpg format.

The video plays fine in all programs, but the audio is a different story.  It is silent in Windows Media Player and Real Player, yet plays well in Windows Media Center and Windows Movie Maker.  It also plays on my Dell PC in Windows Media Player (the same program that silences it on my Dell laptop). 

I'm a senior citizen and have worked a little bit with Windows Movie Maker but that is all - nothing more intricate than that program.  I’d like to burn my new movie file to DVD but would first like to know what is causing the audio problem.  I'm hoping it's something simple and that this aged brain can understand the "fix".   Any suggestions?

Thank you for any help you can offer me.

Anne

• 1. Re: Premier Elements 8 Audio Problem
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Anne,

Welcome to the forum.

Just to make sure that I am following you, I will restate what I think you are experiencing, and then please correct me. Along the way will be a few questions too.

You have created a Project in PrElements, and have Imported Video (with Audio) into the PrE Project. The files from your Sony are in MP4 format.

In PrE you have your Audio, correct?

You have then Exported/Shared that Project to an AV file as an MPEG. Do you recall the settings chosen for that MPEG?

That Exported/Shared file plays with Audio in some players, but in others it only plays the Video, but not the Audio. Is that correct?