7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2011 8:19 AM by the_wine_snob

5.1 audio?

alienarttattoo

HI, im new to premiere elements9 and my first time on a forum, Please help.

I have imported my video from my sony HDR-PJ10, with my project settings as Full HD 1080i 25 5.1 channel.

It shows 5.1 on the left in audio on my time line and i can see all 6 levels in the audio mixer working.

i have burnt my project to a DVD.

Why does my Sony DVD recorded/player (RDR-HDC100) not recognise it as 5.1 audio? Am i doing something wrong?

• 1. Re: 5.1 audio?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

PrE can ingest DD 5.1 SS, and can edit with it. However, it cannot Export/Share DD 5.1 SS, as it does not have a DD 5.1 SS encoder.

Even with PrPro, one must purchase the Minnetonka Audio SurCode Encoder plug-in for ~ US $ 250.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: 5.1 audio?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Bill is correct. Premiere Elements does not have the ability to output a 5.1 audio DVD.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: 5.1 audio?
              the_wine_snob Level 9

You might get some ideas on a DD 5.1 SS Audo stream without the Minnetonka Audio SurCode plug-in (PrPro only), from this THREAD.

Dislcaimer: As I have PrPro and the SurCode plug-in for each copy, I have never needed to use anything other workflow, and have never tested any.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: 5.1 audio?
                the_wine_snob Level 9

Here is another potential workflow, from TerraChild, but again, I have zero experience with this.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 5. Re: 5.1 audio?
                  alienarttattoo Level 1

Thankyou for your help!

• 6. Re: 5.1 audio?
                    alienarttattoo Level 1

Sorry, probably a sill question, does this mean if i purchace this program i will then be able to burn my project in 5.1? does this program work with PrE some how? or do i use it seperatly some how?

Thanks.