3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2011 9:21 AM by Thom Parker

Adding Icons to Toolbar

Joe The Engineer Level 1

I've seen a couple of examples of icons being added to toolbars and I'm trying to figure out the best way to do it:

1)  AddToolbarsButton.pdf in the Javascript samples portfolio:  It looks like the icon is represented as a string which then is converted to an image using this little piece of code.

//strtest is the string representing the icon image and it's like 1000 characters long or something.

var iconStreamObj = {

read: function readMyIcon(nBytes){

var t = "";

console.println("request for " +nBytes);

while (pos < nBytes){

t = t+strtest;

pos += strtest.length;

}

return t;

},

width:17,

height:20

}

Anyway, I'm kind of new to javascript and I can't figure out how they converted the icon to a string to be named as a variable in the script.  I've tried to do it, but haven't had much luck with it at all.  Also, In the samples javascript, I can't figure out where the variable nBytes comes from...

2)  This.importIcon method in the javascript api reference doesn't make sense to me.  If i want to import an icon into a document, do i have to do it via javascript?  I guess I can assign it to an unseen button, but that seems kind of rinky-dink.  Is it impossible for me to embed it into the document manually through acrobat and then assign it via javascript?  If so, how?  I've also noticed the term "named icon", but I cannot figure out what that denotes.  I have several icons I'd like to use in my script as standalone toolbar buttons (i.e. not a button on a page). 
      Assuming these icons are in the same folder as the current document, is there a script I can use to import these icons into the document for use in toolbar buttons?  Do they have to be "PDF's" or "ico's"?  I've seen some online javascript that gave me the impression that file extensions were not used.  I would think that I could use a simple script like: