7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2011 6:08 PM by Bob Dix Photographer

PE9 and Canon HF S100 .mts files

athaynes25

I have been searching the forums for a while and looking through the help file trying to find out why the video I shoot with my Canon HF S100 camera is crap after PE9 gets done with it. Granted I am new to all of this, so I am not pointing any fingers at this point and hope this it is just my ignorance. The .mts file is listed in the supported formats of the help menu. I am shooting 1920X1080 and the camera is set to 60i for the frame rate. I am still leaning the lingo and what it all means. The rendering in the timeline looks just as good as the original footage and I add a few transitions, and titles, etc. The render turns out great and i save the file only to watch a bunch of grainy or wavy video.

I tried to just add a video with no editing and save it to a DVD and it is the same poor quality. I guess I assumed that PE9 would select the best output settings based on the source file. I read that previous versions of PE had problems with the mts format, but never used them, so I hope that what I am getting is not the Adobe idea of a supported format.

I apologize in advance if I left out any or all details you need to provide any type of guidance. Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: PE9 and Canon HF S100 .mts files
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

When you started you Premiere Elements project, which project settings did you select? If you selected the correct project settings then the video clips you've added to your timeline will have no lines above them until you add effects to them. Is that the case in your project?

You say you are seeing poor results in your output. What Share options and settings are you using? And what program are you judging the quality on?