4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2011 1:16 AM by Jim_Simon

Premiere Pro on Mac, just how much would I be missing

Lannister

I've decided to switch to the new iMac from my old pc that I've been using for years. As a student I have only enough for 21.5 inch at $1199 without configuration. With Final Cut out of the picture I've decided to use Premiere Pro and buying Production Premium. I haven't bought the iMac yet and having heard that Windows have better support then Mac platform. I'm having doubts whether Mac platform is worth it especially if I'm using it just for what's in Production Premium.

Effects and transitions missing, fine aslong as there are superior and similar features in place. But otherwise what am I missing?

Mercury playback engine, CUDA what's the deal with my iMac and AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB

(sorry if I sound like a total idiot, I'm new to all this)

Other missing features, differences between Mac and Windows with Premiere Pro and After Effects

Should I stick to PC are there comparables to the $1199 iMac?

Appreciate any answers... I am totally clueless as you might be able to tell.

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro on Mac, just how much would I be missing
          jasonvp Level 3

Lannister wrote:

Mercury playback engine, CUDA what's the deal with my iMac and AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB

(sorry if I sound like a total idiot, I'm new to all this)

CUDA is an nVidia thing only.  Given that the iMacs are all integrated, you're basically out of luck when it comes to upgrading or changing the video card.  You can't do it.  Purchasing an iMac means you've accepted the fact that the entire hardware kit is basically self-contained and, other than RAM and hard disk, you can't upgrade anything.

If money is a constraint for you, I'd stick with Windows (this coming from a die-hard Mac user).

jas

• 2. Re: Premiere Pro on Mac, just how much would I be missing
            Harm Millaard Level 7