3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2011 9:58 AM by the_wine_snob

Creating 5.1 surround sound out of stereo audio

jaggarjack

Hi,

I'm new to surround sound editing, so for the past few weeks I've been searching through internet how to create suround sound for my movie. I have a whole movie already done in Premiere Pro 5 (every scene in it's own squence). In these sequences I have stereo audio clips that  create a complete stereo sound, but since this movie is going to go on film festivals I have to create surround sound.

Through my reasearch I came across many explanations of how to create it, but the more I read the more it confused me so I decidet to ask for help on this forum.

1. Is it posible to create surroundsound directly out of stereo audio (I know that the sequences that you are working in has to be set to surround sound) that I have in first, second and third chanel, that have  surround sound controls above them in Audio mixer?

vork2.png

2. I know that  in 5.1 chanels you can only inport 5.1 surround sound tracks. My question is, do I have to take each stereo clip, transform it in mono clip and then create a stereo clip out of that mono clip?

3. Did I completly miss the whole concept of creating surround sound and that I would have to do it diferently?

Thanks for helping out, Jaggarjack

• 1. Re: Creating 5.1 surround sound out of stereo audio
          Jim_Simon Level 8

The process of creating a 5.1 mix out of a stereo source is called upmixing.  (Just like the reverse is called downmixing.)  You will need third-party upmixing software to do the job properly.  PP isn't capable of creating a proper 5.1 mix out of a stereo source.

I know DTS makes such software.  Dolby may as well.  Root around with Google for 'upmixing', see what turns up.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating 5.1 surround sound out of stereo audio
            jaggarjack Level 1