7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2011 10:25 PM by Rick Gerard

Greetings, and a request for insight into executing credits

jmm2255 Level 1

Hello fellow Adobe Creative Suites users. I am a complete novice, and just downloaded the trial version. I must confess that I am not very tech savvy, and I am also having some difficulty finding the key information I am looking for, especially without the benefit of a hard copy book to study, although I will now check Amazon to see if any manuals are available. I am an O.K. trial and error button pusher, when I have enough of a foundation to work with.

In short, the first skill I want to learn is constructing a simple credit sequence. I want a few lines of white text to fade into the black background screen view, then have the lines start scrolling upward, with new lines appearing from the bottom of the screen rolling upward, and I would like to add some music that would be in the form of wav. files, and would start at some point in the middle of the say 30 second sequence.

So far, I can add text to the screen view, and manipulate font size and style, but that is about it. Any clues as to the commands that would facilitate the text fade in, then commencing the roll upward, and adding music would be very much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Greetings, and a request for insight into executing credits
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Start here to learn After Effects.

That page points to several video tutorial series and books, as well as the After Effects Help document.

Just go through the resources in the order given here, and you'll have what you need.

• 2. Re: Greetings, and a request for insight into executing credits
            jmm2255 Level 1

Hello Todd,