3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2011 6:54 PM by Todd_Kopriva

Is After Effects a good Alternative to Premiere or Sony Vegas?

Iceycold97

I'm a new user to adobe programs, I couldn't get Premiere Pro but my local best buy is giving me a good offer on it, so I gues I'l ltake it.

I just need to do some basic stuff.

-Render in 1080p

-Put text/images over videos for "X" amount of time

- Zoom and Pan

- Adding MP3's to video.

So if I can do those things would it be a good alternative ? I'm a bit confused on the program because I used the 30 day trial and I noticed when I added a clip to the timeline that had sound, i see a green bar only, doesn't it seperate it by sound and video?

Thanks, I'm just a newbie that needs some help

• 1. Re: Is After Effects a good Alternative to Premiere or Sony Vegas?
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Premiere Pro and Vegas are non-linear editors---i.e., they excel at chopping long clips of video into pieces and then assembling them in time.

After Effects is a compositing and motion graphics application---i.e., it excels at layering moving images on top of one another and animating things.

If you want to animate text and put that over video, then After Effects is the right tool for the job.

Your question about audio and green bars is confusing. I'm not sure what you're asking. See this page to see how After Effects deals with previews of video and audio; that should clear things up.

I very strongly recommend that you work your way through the getting started materials here to learn After Effects. The more effort you put into learning the basics up front, the less frustrating things will be. After Effects is not an intuituve application that you can just start using by pressing buttons.

• 2. Re: Is After Effects a good Alternative to Premiere or Sony Vegas?
            Iceycold97 Level 1