12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2011 9:16 AM by peter minneapolis

Book File Questions

Stix Hart Level 5

Background: First off, I've never used book files before, all our documents are usually too short.  However I've got a fairly simple catalogue that has mushroomed in size.  It starts of at 250MB and after a couple of edits, shifting sections etc when you save it it's 450MB or so.  A save as brings it back down to around 250MB.  But it's very slow to work on (Windows XP CS5 4GB RAM various different processors, none that fast) so I'm looking to split it into a book.

First question: Will splitting it up into a book help much?  I know we'll be able to open each section up much faster but will the book file bog down?

Second question: How do I do a hyperlink from each page to a contents page?  I tried putting a hyperlink on the master page that is in the same document that the contents page is but it only works in that document.

Third question: How do I do hyperlinks from a contents page to each section?

• 1. Re: Book File Questions
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I've only done one or two projects big enough to warrant a Book, and since they started that way, I can't say for certain that they run faster, but my instinct is that they do. You can, after all, keep a lot of the book closed most of the time.

Now the bad news, I suspect your links need to be cross-references. Cross-file cross-refs are notoriously unstable, though, and most people I know and respect advise avoiding them, even to the point of not using a Book, if necessary.

• 2. Re: Book File Questions
            Stix Hart Level 5

OK, that was another question, there's been quite a few bugs reported in this area and I seem to remember one area that is broken and hasn't been fixed.  Is that cross refs across docs in CS5?

• 3. Re: Book File Questions

I think they are improved, but not perfect, by any means.

• 4. Re: Book File Questions