Hi All

I am new to flash, but use it to convert my FCP .mov docs to swf

My client has requested the following;

Codec: Sorenson Spark Pro
      Method: 2-pass VBR
      Data rate: 436Kbps
      Frame size: 320 x 240
      Frame rate: 1:1

The agency representing them wants the file to be around 10mb! but obviously it cant be ..its currently 60kb. NOW! as i said im new to Flash so dont want to appear arrogant to my client but as far as im concerned its impossible to get a file size that big from these figures. ...or am i wrong?

does anyone know what the above requirements would look like if they wanted a 10mb file?

• 1. Re: Increse file size
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

The specs that you show are for a video file. You say that your client wants you to convert a video file to Flash. A Flash file exported to video will result in a much larger file size for the exported video. The size of the exported file is dependent on several variables: frame rate, image size and compressor used.

Converting a video file to Flash will also create a large file. One of the elements that accounts for Flash's small file size is that it uses vector images. Using raster images, as in imported photos, photoshop files, or digital video, will dramatically increase the size of the file in Flash.

What is it that you want to do?

• 2. Re: Increse file size
            adninjastrator Level 4

No offense to your client but the request makes no sense at all.

As mentioned, the specs are for a video file. So lets just assume that they don’t understand that the video file gets displayed by the .swf….. not that the video is converted into a .swf (since they provided the specs for a video file).

Then to use Sorenson Spark? Now that’s a really old codec, still, maybe that’s what they want, for whatever reason (most likely because that’s what they used 10 years ago).