13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2011 9:12 PM by George_Johnson

Conditional Scripting for Fillable PDF Form

TSmith1200

I will start off by saying that I am a communications professional who has NO experience in Java Scrpting. Currently, I am orking on creating a fillable PDF form that will be used internally. There are two variable dollar amounts that need to be populated based on information that is entered into another field.

More specifically, years of service completed determines the cost that a retired employee is required to pay for Single or Two Party health care coverage. For example, if 10 years of service is selected, then the Single coverage line item needs to populate with $598.16 and the Two Party line item needs to populate with $1,196.30. Can a drop-down menu be used for years of service and still have the variable amounts display or would it need to be a text field where a value is entered?

There are 21 different years of sevice categories with two dollar amounts assigned to each. From the research I've done it appears that a custom calculation using Java Script needs to be developed to make the form function as outlined above.

Any insight into how the scripting needs to be set up would me much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Conditional Scripting for Fillable PDF Form
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can use a drop-down. Set the export values to the single year price (so

in the case of 10 years, set the export value to be 1,196.30). You can then

create a text field that shows the price for a Single coverage, being

identical to the value of the drop-down, and another for the Two coverage,

being double that. You can do it without any custom-made scripts that way.

• 2. Re: Conditional Scripting for Fillable PDF Form
            TSmith1200 Level 1