4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2011 6:13 AM by Ned Murphy

SWF not playing in browser

Ed Pepin

Hello:  I am new to both the  forum and Flash CS5, and I made the mistake of piggy-backing this onto an existing post which described a similar problem, for which I was duly chastised, so I'm starting a new thread here. I apologize for my failure to follow proper protocol.

Essentially, the swf I created in Flash CS5 plays perfectly in the player.  It plays perfectly in Dreamweaver CS5 when I press the "play" button.  Whether I choose play movie or play scene, everything works.   When I export the file to the Dreamweaver page (insert>media>SWF)  the gray box appears on the page and when I save the page, all the  files get uploaded.  A "Script" directory is created under the root,  with 2 files, and the .SWF file is in the root directory as well.  The  settings in Dreamweaver are all standard and there is nothing large or  weird about the SWF itself.  Essentially, it's a rotating graphic.  Very  basic.  But when I open the web page, nothing appears. (Using  Firefox).  Even when I switch to IE, the page opens, but the SWF does  not play.  I've Googled every web site forum that addresses this issue  and I can find nothing to make this work.  When I "publish", I  understand an .HTML file is created that should be put into the root of  the server.  Originally I couldn't find where the html file was put, but after closing all the windows, I found it on the desktop.  I uploaded it to the root as well.  Everything seems to be where it's supposed to be, yet when I go to the site, all I get is a gray box.  I can right click the box and get the flash player control panel, but nothing else.  I have followed all the suggestions posted and nothing makes it work.  Obviously I'm missing something, but am clueless to determine what.

When I open my web  site, instead of just displaying the title "Home Page", it says Home  Page - Flash Player Installation - Index.html.