11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2011 10:52 AM by digitlman

No shuttling of Long-GOP?

Jim Curtis Level 3

I'm still new to Pr.  Up to now, I've been editing with ProRes or DVCProHD.  Those are intraframe codecs.  I just loaded a 7D project (h264).   I have no ability whatsoever to shuttle the Source or Sequence monitors.  I only get an update when I release the CTI.  And not only that, the update takes a second or two.

Is this how Pr handles Long-GOP codecs? 

Is this how FCPX does it?  I'm intrigued by their skimmer, and I wonder whether it works on Long-GOP; and if Apple can skim or shuttle, can't Adobe?

If this is the way Pr handles Long-GOP, I'm going to go back to transcoding it all before editing, and start ridiculing the idea of native editing in Pr.

Somebody please tell me that I'm doing something wrong.

I don't have a CUDA card installed.  If I got one, could I shuttle like I can with intraframe sources?

I'm on a pretty fast MacPro octo 3GHz, with my footage on a roughly 1GB/s RAID. 

• 1. Re: No shuttling of Long-GOP?
          Colin Brougham Level 6
          I have no ability whatsoever to shuttle the Source or Sequence monitors.  I only get an update when I release the CTI.  And not only that, the update takes a second or two.

That seems a bit extreme, but blame the  codec, not the program. PPro will cache frames after an initial play-through or scrubbing, but it shouldn't be that laggy.

Is this how FCPX does it?  I'm intrigued by their skimmer, and I wonder whether it works on Long-GOP; and if Apple can skim or shuttle, can't Adobe?

Not sure, but isn't FCPX transcoding in the background?

If this is the way Pr handles Long-GOP, I'm going to go back to transcoding it all before editing, and start ridiculing the idea of native editing in Pr.