3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2011 3:22 PM by Overfocused

Setting project default file locations and a few random interface questions

Bob-R Level 1

I apologize for the randomness of this post, but it seemed better than spamming a bunch of different posts in a short period of time.  I've been using Premiere Elements 9 for about 6 months now and there are a few little things that I'd like to tweak.

1. I'd like to change the default file save location for a project.  I've got different projects in different folders and it seems like I should be able to set a default save location for each project.  All I've ever been able to find in the help is how to set the scratch folder, which is different.
      2. I'd like to change the default encoding preset for a project.  For example, I have a custom preset for mp4 under the mobile phone category.  It would be nice to have that be the default whenever I pick the mobile phone category.
      3. With birthdays and concerts and plays and all that stuff I have about 50 videos and a couple hundred large photos already.  Every time Premiere loads, it takes a few extra seconds to load up all of the thumbnails.  I hide all the videos and pictures on the Organize tab and save the project, but it never sticks.  Is this just impossible?
      4. Finally, every so often, the end-of-clip marker acts funny.  I don't know what the proper name for it is, but it is the thing under the mouse cursor in the picture below.  It used to automatically move on the time line as I added or deleted clips.  Somehow I clicked a button and it no longer does that.  After a week or so of not working, it goes back to automatically adjusting as I add and delete clips from the timeline and then it will break again.  Ideas?
      5. Also in the timeline, I now have this huge gap of nothingness on top of video 1, see picture.  My ocd says that Video1 and Audio 1 should be at the very top and the gap should be on the bottom.  Ideas?

premiere.jpg

Thanks,