6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2011 2:04 PM by BVX3001

P2 files audio gain adjustment causes crashes

BVX3001 Level 1

I'm fairly new to shooting and editing P2 files. Whenever I try to adjust the audio gain on any such clip it immediately crashes Premiere (5.0.3). Other files adjust flawlessly. I see someone brought this up last year but the suggested changing of audio preferences for source channel mapping from stereo to "Use file" had no effect.  Is there a solution for CS5 users? Has this been solved in 5.5?   Going thru Soundbooth is a tedious, time-consuming workaround.

Thanks in advance for any clues.

• 1. Re: P2 files audio gain adjustment causes crashes
          Colin Brougham Level 6

It's a known bug, and unfortunately, it was not solved in CS5. It was fixed for CS5.5, however.

Are you saying it's happening with mono-only clips, also? I thought/seem to remember this only affecting clips where the mono audio was remapped to stereo.

• 2. Re: P2 files audio gain adjustment causes crashes
            Colin Brougham Level 6

OK, I might have found a workaround. If you are indeed talking about mono audio mapped to stereo, there's a fairly simple solution: instead of using Audio Gain on a clip in a sequence, simply use it a on clip in the bin/Project Panel instead. To do this, just select the clips you want to use Audio Gain on, and then go to Clip > Audio Options > Audio Gain (CS5.5 has added this to the right-click menu). Even when mapped to stereo, there is no crash--at least, not in my testing. It seems to be OK even when the clips are already used in a sequence; note that it won't affect clips already in the sequence, though.

Does that work for you? Just did a quick test here...

• 3. Re: P2 files audio gain adjustment causes crashes
              BVX3001 Level 1