5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2011 9:56 PM by relaxatraja

Can't Delete Frames

rebbym

I am very new to flash. I have a marketing video with audio  that is very long,  I need to delete  frames 20 - 1430 from  the .fla to make it shorter. I hope I'm using the terminology correctly, I essentially want to cut out frames 21 - 1429; all the images, the audio and the frames themselves, essentially make it be like they were never there.  I'm having lots of problems, I can't even seem to select the frames properly. I followed these insutruction:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FTFYjC_LSQ

then edit/timeline/remove frames and nothing happened. The frames are still there. I have tried a number of ways to approach this, and I have researched everywhere, and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I would so appreciate some help!

Can anyone tell me what the easiest and best way to do this is?  I need to have the result be a .fla, because I will have to edit some objects/actions down the line. Or if the process is very quick, and creates a .swf, I could do that each time as well.

I have the full Creative Suite Master collection 5.5, so it dosen't have to be in flash.

Thanks for reading!

• 1. Re: Can't Delete Frames
          relaxatraja Level 5

Better try to edit your video file externally using Adobe premier or try with media encoder to crop it out. and again the embed the clip on the timeline. you get solved.

• 2. Re: Can't Delete Frames
            coppy321

I encountered a similar problem. Here is how I solved it.

First, just to be clear:

Deleting frames from individual layers - To add frames to individual layers of your movie, the keyboard shortcut is: F5 (select layers, then click F5). To delete them, usually all you need to do is select the frames you wish to delete and then use the keyboard shortcut Shift+F5 (Windows).