17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2009 1:45 PM by Newsgroup_User

Asking advice from more experienced devs

Andy Bay Level 2
      Hi!

I'm stuck:

I'm trying to create a web page that has a curvy shape in the left side of it. My client wants the text to wrap around that shape. The way I decided to go was to slice the curvy shape in Fireworks using the polygonal slice tool. The problem is, when I export and open it in Dreamweaver, I can't figure out how I can get the text so that it will wrap around that slice. I think that the text should be in the same table cell with the slices so that the wrap would be possible, but how I can't seem to get it right, the sliced image always gets messed up. Is there an easy way to do what I'm trying to achieve? I am not very experienced with web design, so there might be better ways to do the wrap.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it a lot! Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Asking advice from more experienced devs
          pixlor Level 4
          quote:

Originally posted by: Andy Bay
          Hi!

I'm stuck:

I'm trying to create a web page that has a curvy shape in the left side of it. My client wants the text to wrap around that shape. The way I decided to go was to slice the curvy shape in Fireworks using the polygonal slice tool. The problem is, when I export and open it in Dreamweaver, I can't figure out how I can get the text so that it will wrap around that slice. I think that the text should be in the same table cell with the slices so that the wrap would be possible, but how I can't seem to get it right, the sliced image always gets messed up. Is there an easy way to do what I'm trying to achieve? I am not very experienced with web design, so there might be better ways to do the wrap.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it a lot! Thanks!

Can you post an image? Just how curvy are we talking about here?

• 2. Asking advice from more experienced devs