3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2011 4:46 AM by Ned Murphy

Help detecting a simultaneous mouse click and keyboard imput.

Celebrinborn

I am making the board game Shogi in actionscript 2 and I have a question on how to detect a particular imput.

I have a movie clip on the stage, I want it so that if I hold down the keyboard button "p" and then click on the movie clip, it will go to the movie clip's frame 2 (not the entire flash project's frame 2, just the particular icon's frame 2. I need this because I am using movie clips as game pieces and in Shogi, certain game pieces can be promoted. I also was wondering how to detect what frame it is on. Thanks everyone.

PS: I have very little experience with either flash or actionscript however I use c++ a lot and use MS Excel's formulas to make simple programs.

• 1. Re: Help detecting a simultaneous mouse click and keyboard imput.
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here's code that does what you described...

var pDown = false;

var keyListener:Object = new Object();
          Key.addListener(keyListener);

keyListener.onKeyDown = function(){
             if(Key.getCode() == 80){  // key p
               pDown = true;
             }
          }

keyListener.onKeyUp = function(){
               pDown = false;
             }
          }

mcName.onRelease = function(){  // the mc click code
             if(pDown){
               mcName.gotoAndStop(2);
             }
             trace(mcName._currentframe); // to tell which frame it is on
          }

• 2. Re: Help detecting a simultaneous mouse click and keyboard imput.
            Celebrinborn Level 1

I think I understand most of this, however I am having trouble understanding this part:

keyListener.onKeyDown = function(){

pDown = true;

}

}