8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2011 7:22 PM by xbytor2

Dynamic folder creation possible?

Janice-83

Hi all-- I'm new to the scripting thing and have been trying to learn but am getting nowhere. Wondering if anyone could help me.

My current workflow is:

Batch including all subfolders using an action that crops, levels, and adds a border then saves the image as tiff to a folder called tiff, resize and save as jpg to another folder called jpg.

It's a pain sorting through the tiff and jpg folders to separate out the images into new folders named as per the originals.

Is there any way to have a script look at the folder you are currently batching from and create and save to folders in each of the tiff and jpg folders named as per the original folder being batched from?

I would appreciate any help or advice you may be able to give.

Janice

• 1. Re: Dynamic folder creation possible?
          JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Photoships with a script named "Image Processor" and Dr Russell Browns web site has a script you can download named something like "Image Processor Pro" I think you should look into these. All you may have to do is create a simple action and use one of these scripts to do most of the work you want done and have it include your action during its processing. 

• 2. Re: Dynamic folder creation possible?
            Janice-83 Level 1

Hi there- thanks for the response.

I tried the Dr. Brown script, and it doesn't work for my application, as I have multiple save and correction steps. This would require all of my changes to be made before going through the Image Processor.

• 3. Re: Dynamic folder creation possible?

Janice-83 wrote:

My current workflow is:

Batch including all subfolders using an action that crops, levels, and adds a border then saves the image as tiff to a folder called tiff, resize and save as jpg to another folder called jpg.

Janice