13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2011 6:26 PM by Frédéric Segard

My new computer build, good bang for the buck?

Islanders66 Level 1

I'm just starting out with CS 5.5, need a new computer, and want a solid base for upgrading as I go. I think I'm on the right track but uncertain of the video card.

Intel 970 six core

Asus Rampage III 1366 X58 ATX

MSI Lightning GTX 580 3072MB

Asus PA246Q 24''

#3 (total 24GB) G. Skill Ripjaws 8GB (2x4GB) 24O-Pin DDR3 1600 (PC312800) F3-1280CL9D08GBRL

#6 Samsung F3 3.0 7200 32MB

Corsair Series Gold 850 WAtt Power Suppy

Antec Kuhlen H20 920 CPU Cooling System

Logotec 500 corded mouse

Logetec corded slim line back lit

Lain Li A77F case

-------

I'm uncertain if the GTX 580 3GB video card ($475) is overkill? The other options are GTX 570 2.5 MB ($375) GTX 560 2MB ($225)

I've read all the reviews but there are mostly gamers who have more than one card.

Will the GTX 560 2MB be good enough? It's appealing because of the 2GB and the $225. If this could work for the next year few years then the GTX 580 may be down to $200. I just don't have much experience with video processing, how many layers I'll be using, etc. Or are all of these poor choices because they don't have the copper tubing?

When I upgrade I'll add a RAID card. For now I'll just start with the 6 Samsung and use a few for backups as I go along. Maybe I'll need to order more or another external back up sooner than later. Hope that makes sense. My approach is to get started then upgrade. I don't need to win any bench mark test but want a computer that's reasonably fast, upgradeable, reliable and have a long life.

Oh yeah, I had no idea about the keyboard and mouse so just went with a wired one as it will be on a desktop.

So does this look like a well balanced approach? Does anything look excessive or insufficiant?