6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2011 4:55 PM by JBinReno

Desperately need help!

JBinReno Level 1

I have no experience whatsoever with JavaScript (or writing any other kind of scripts for that matter). However, I am trying to create a PDF form in which I need a field to calculate the percentage of the two prior fields, and the only way I can see to do it is to write a custom calculation script. Can anyone help me with this task? I would greatly appreciate any help you can offer, even if it's telling me I'm in the wrong place and where the more appropriate forum would be. Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Desperately need help!
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

If you provide more details about the calculation you want to perform, someone should be able to help. Exactly what do you mean by "the percentage of the two prior fields"?

• 2. Re: Desperately need help!
            JBinReno Level 1

Hi George,

Thanks so much for responding. I apologize for not providing enough info. What I have is a monthly as well as fiscal year-to-date report that I have to complete. The field I'm having difficulty with is one which needs to calculate the percentage of the two previous fields. For example, field #1 has an entry of the numeral 5 (the total number of a particular type of crime committed that month), and field #2 has an entry of the numeral 3 (the total number of that type of crime that was solved or cleared that month). So I need the third field to calculate the percentage of crimes that were solved/cleared that month, i.e. I need it to do the calculation of 3 divided by 5 to get 60%. Does that make more sense?

• 3. Re: Desperately need help!

Yes, that makes sense. You can use a script like the following as the custom Calculate script for the percentage field:

// Custom Calculate script for text field
              (function () {

// Get the two field values, as strings
                  var v1, s1 = getField("text1").valueAsString;